THE TERROIR

Situated on the foothills of Luberon, the 70-hecatre estate is on a 350-meter elevation, set in a landscape of green oaks and garigues.

The upper soil layers are composed of 60% sandstone and silt, and the bottom layers of clay and limestone, which permits an optimal drainage and the forming of water reserves in the depths.

Grape varietals have been planted in the adapted parcels :

-Whites in the parcels composed mainly of sandstone

-Reds in the parcels composed, in the depths, of clay and limestone

The high elevation of the estate’s soils permits a slower ripening of grapes. Chilly nights lead to a gradual increase in sweetness and allow grapes to demonstrate more finesse, avoiding any excessive ripeness (warm nights heighten the maturity of wines and affect their balance).


PLANTING & ORIENTATION

Back when the new owners of the estate purchased it in 1999, they conducted restructuration of the vineyards: 8 hectares of unhealthy or flawed grapevines were extracted, and 8 new ones were replanted.

Currently, one hectare of land is composed of 4,200 grapevines, and vines are planted 0,90m apart with row spacing at 2,20m.

Each vine is attached to a stake, which provides protection against the mistral wind and a better control over its growth.


OUR KNOW-HOW

Le Château la Dorgonne embraces « Bio-Active »® farming, a method that relies on the observation of nature, its cycle of evolution and the nourishment of the soil, and advocates the harmony between nature and nurturing.

It is our experiences and trials that gave birth to our estate. We explored various terroirs and evaluated many practices before establishing our domain. We also met with many winegrowers and viticulturists and conducted many tastings.

Our quest for quality reflects our very own choices and intuitions which we continuously cultivate and hone until we achieve the optimal farming approach for the Château la Dorgonne.


HARVEST

When does harvest take place? When grapes reach their full maturity and present the right balance between sweetness, acidity and phenolic components.

When aromas are fully developed, this is when harvest begins.

At the end of October, when harvest ends, we practice the “buttage” of vines to prepare them for winter time. The method consists of piling earth around the base of vines, using a plough. Harvesting by hand preserves the quality of grapes. During the sorting phase – conducted both in the vineyards and in the cellars - only the worthy grapes are retained, the others are discarded.

We believe that grapes ripen fully when the balance between all components is reached.

  • Sweetness level which determines the level of alcohol
  • Acidity level which makes the wine livelier
  • The phenolic elements of the skin which enhance the color, the fruitiness and the tannins
  • The expression of aromas contained in the pulp
  • Glycerol which makes the wine full-bodied and accentuates the mouthfeel

Hand harvesting is done one parcel and one variety at a time. Over 21 people participate in the harvest: 10 of them are in charge of cutting, 2 of them handle carrying, 1 is the tractor driver, 1 unloads bins into the tractor, 5 are in charge of sorting, 1 person carries the bins to the cellar, and 1 is in charge of the cellar.

The harvest requires about one month of work. Those in charge of reaping collect the clusters and place them in 28-kg bins. These are brought to the cellar where the clusters are unloaded on a conveyor belt, ready to be sorted. 5 workers sort the clusters, and only the ripe berries are retained. The wines of Château de la Dorgonne are hand-sorted, one berry at a time.

Approximately 28 hectares of crop require almost 570 hours of picking and 260 hours of sorting. About 100 tons are picked which amounts to 650 hl after sorting. An average yield of 23 hl per hectare, which equates to 20 hl for whites and reds, 25 hl for rosés. The berries selected on the sorting table are then poured into the press where they are destemmed (removal of the stems) and crushed (breaking of the skin to allow the juice to drain).

This is how a new vintage wine takes shape.

en_USEnglish

LE TERROIR

Situés sur les contreforts sud du Luberon, les 70 hectares du domaine (d’un seul tenant) émergent à 350 mètres d’altitude au centre d’un environnement de chênes verts et de garrigues.

Le terroir est constitué d’environ 60% de sable et de limon, puis d’argile et de calcaire. Cette composition de terrain : sable dans les couches supérieures des sols, argile et calcaire dans les couches inférieures, permet un drainage parfait des sols et une constitution de réserves d’eau en profondeur.

Les différents cépages ont été plantés dans les parcelles les plus adaptées :

-Les blancs sur des parcelles contenant principalement du sable

-Les rouges sur des parcelles renfermant en profondeur, plus d’argile et de calcaire

L’altitude relativement élevée du domaine, permet d’obtenir une maturité lente du raisin. Les nuits fraîches offrent une montée progressive en sucre, elles favorisent ainsi la finesse et évitent toute lourdeur excessive (les chaleurs de la nuit accentuant les déséquilibres et la vinosité des vins).


PLANTATION & ORIENTATION

Lors de sa reprise en 1999, le vignoble du Château la Dorgonne fut restructuré, 8 Hectares de vignes malades ou peu qualitatives ont été arrachés et 8 autres replantés.

Nous avons également procédé à une restructuration de la taille des ceps de vigne en passant de 7 à 4 porteurs.

Un hectare de vigne contient 4.200 pieds, ce qui équivaut à une plantation de 2,20m entre chaque rangée et 0,90m entre chaque pied de vigne.

Chaque plant est attaché à un échalas (tuteur en châtaignier) lui assurant une protection efficace contre le mistral et une bonne maitrise de sa croissance.


Notre savoir faire

Le Château la Dorgonne pratique une culture dite « Bio-Active »®. La méthodologie développée repose sur les indications suivantes : observation de la nature, de ses cycles d’évolution et des besoins manifestes du sous-sol.

Il s’agit, d’harmoniser équilibre entre nature et besoins de production.

La découverte de vignobles aux terroirs très variés, la multiplicité des rencontres avec des vignerons d’expériences différentes, enfin, d’innombrables dégustations, ont constitué les étapes préalables et fondamentales à la création de notre vignoble.

Une immense liberté s’offrait à nous, restait à travailler et à tester nos intuitions, afin d’élaborer les méthodes de production à adopter par le Château la Dorgonne.


Les vendanges

Fin octobre, à la fin des vendanges, nous buttons les vignes afin de les préparer au retour du froid. Avec la charrue, la terre est ramenée en monticules sur le pied des vignes. Les raisins sont parvenus à pleine maturité, ils présentent un bel équilibre entre sucre, acidité et composés phénoliques*. L’expression aromatique est alors optimale.

C’est le début des vendanges.

Les vendanges manuelles préservent la qualité du raisin; les tris dans les vignes, puis tris en cave permettront la sélection des plus beaux grains dignes d’être conservés, les autres seront rejetés…

Nous considérons que le raisin est à pleine maturité quand l’équilibre entre les composants suivants est atteint :

  • Le taux de sucre qui détermine le degré d’alcool du vin
  • Le taux d’acidité qui apporte au vin sa vivacité et sert d’exhausteur de goût
  • La maturité phénolique apportée par les peaux qui donne la couleur, le fruit et les tanins fins du vin
  • L’expression des arômes qui se retrouve dans la pulpe
  • Le glycérol qui apporte sa rondeur au vin.

Les vendanges manuelles sont réalisées parcelle par parcelle, cépage par cépage. En tout 21 personnes participent aux vendanges : 10 coupeurs, 2 porteurs, 1 tractoriste 1 chargeur sur le tracteur, 5 trieurs, 1 porteur à la cave, 1 caviste.

Les vendanges nécessitent à peu près un mois de travail. Les coupeurs ramassent les belles grappes (tri sur fils) et les disposent dans des caisses de 28 kg. Celles-ci sont amenées à la cave où les raisins sont déchargés sur un tapis roulant, puis triés par 5 personnes. Seules les baies mûres sont conservées, les autres sont éliminées. On peut noter que les vins du Château la Dorgonne sont le fruit d’une sélection baie par baie.

En moyenne, les vendanges nécessitent plus de 570 heures de ramassage et 260 heures de tri pour +/- 28 hectares. Environ 100 tonnes sont récoltés, ce qui après tri, donne 650 hl, soit un rendement moyen de 23 hl par hectare 20 hl pour les blancs et les rouges, 25 hl pour les rosés). Les baies sélectionnées sur la table de tri sont ensuite dirigées vers le fouloir où elles sont éraflées (élimination de la partie ligneuse) et foulées (blessure des baies pour permettre au jus de s’écouler).

C’est la naissance d’un nouveau millésime.